Real Mallorca Football

To quote their full title: Real Club Deportivo Mallorca, S.A.D. was founded on 5 March 1916 and currently plays in the Spanish second division after finishing 18th in La Liga in 2012/2013 which meant automatic relegation. The first season back in La Segunda was disappointing and so they must aim for promotion again this season.

Mallorca play in red shirts and black shorts with black socks. Their home stadium is the Iberostar Stadium (photo above), seating 23,142 spectators. This was previously called the ONO Estadi and before that the Son Moix. In its history, the team has spent 27 seasons in Primera División, 33 in Segunda División, 2 in Segunda División B and even 11 in the Tercera División which is the fourth level of Spanish football.

Real Mallorca have been having a lot of behind the scenes problems over the last five years with prospective buyers for the team coming and going amid newspaper headlines heralding the new saviour only to be disappointed at the last minute. It was announced on 22 July 2008, that 96% of the club’s shares had been purchased for over GBP 50 million by controversial English businessman Paul Davidson. In November 2008 it was revealed that Davidson was unable to complete the deal due to lack of finances, raising questions as to whether his interest was little more than a publicity stunt. Since then there has been a succession of managers and presidents!


Copa del Rey

Winners – 2003

Runners-up – 1991, 1998

Supercopa de España

Winners – 1998

Runners-up – 2003

Segunda División

Winners – 1959-60, 1964-65

UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup

Runners-up – 1999

Highest finish

3rd in La Liga – 1998-99, 2000-01

Record League victory

7-1 v Recreativo Huelva (h), 9 March 2008

Record League defeat

7-0 v Atlético Madrid (a), 7 February 1988

Fastest goal

22 seconds – Dani García Lara v Real Oviedo, 21 Februar 1999.

Most goals scored in a season

61 – 2000-01

Individual records

Most appearances

255 – Miguel Ángel Nadal

Most goals scored

54 – Samuel Eto’o

Most League goals in a season

27 Dani Gáiza – 2007-08

Pichichi Trophy winners

Dani Gáiza – 2007-08

Ricardo Zamora Trophy winners

Carlos Roa – 1998-99

The club has an independent English-language website whilst the official club website is also in English

Information kindly supplied by Mallorca Select